I’m not dead (not yet, at least)


I swear I’m not dead.  As I had eluded to in a previous post, Spring is an extremely busy time for us as a family with the school year ending and massive amounts of Girl Scout events seemingly stacked on top of each other.  There is light at the end of the tunnel, though.  As we approach Memorial Day things are beginning to slow up.  Tonight is the girls’ Bridging ceremony.  Mouse is moving on up from Brownies to Juniors and Pinto is going from Juniors to Cadettes.  Both troops have had their Spring camping trips and after tonight there isn’t anything outside of their Summer sleepovers and a week of resident camp, each.

As far as Geocaching goes, this Summer is shaping up to be a busy one.  Aside from the usual boredom-killing cache runs, we have several trips planned this year that will incorporate Geocaching along the way.

First up, in mid-June, we have our annual trip to Holiday World.  We spend several nights at the campgrounds next to the park and proved last year that caching while on the road is not only possible, but makes the return trip home more fun.   I haven’t begun to map out our potential caches, but that’s only because I want to wait to make sure that I do it close enough to the trip that any new caches that are placed close to our trip will be accounted for.

A couple weeks after that we have the 4th of July weekend which will mark our 1-year anniversary of Geocaching.  It is at that time that we will hide our first cache to mark the occasion.  We’re still trying to figure out exactly where we’re going to hide the cache and what type it will be, but I assure you once we’ve figured it out I’ll let you know.  While it’s looking like my goal to hit 500 finds by our 1-year anniversary is fast becoming a pipe dream, I KNOW we’ll hit 400 by then.

The last week of July we’re heading up to northern Ohio for the Midwest GeoBash.  This annual MegaEvent was all the talk at our first flashmob event and I vowed to get more information when we got home.  It’s a weekend-long event that focuses on all things Geocaching.  Apparently there are a lot of geocaches in the area that groups of people will band together to find.  I am hoping we can convince my mom-in-law and her boyfriend to come along, but even if it ends up being just us 2 I am sure it’ll be a blast.

Throughout the Summer there are a multitude of events and gatherings that we can attend, and we still need to do the Indy Parks 100 years challenge.  I won’t say we’ll do them all….but I will say we’ll at least make an effort.  There won’t be any 30-day lulls for us.

Categories: Random talking | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “I’m not dead (not yet, at least)

  1. Wow, 400 finds in a year–that’s a lot! Mine would be closer to 4. I continue to be amazed by the number of geocaching events out there–seems like every time I turn around there’s another one. I’ve put together a few small ones for a local outdoors club, but I haven’t been to one of the big ones yet.

    • I know that 400 equates to over 1 cache per day for the entire year, but I have met a few people who were able to find over 1000 in a year. I know it’s not a race, but at some of these events I feel like such a n00b when I tell them that I have as few finds as I have in relation to theirs. I ran into someone a couple weeks ago trying to grab a FTF and he was impressed that I showed up as quickly as he did. He asked me how many finds I have and practically laughed when I told him it was 312. He had over 7000. I just felt so insignificant.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

